Pulling the Thread

‘Hey’, my phone blinked.
‘I’d love if you wear that tonight. I know you are a little afraid, but you will have a good time if you know what I mean.’
I knew this night was going to come soon. We had become very close in the past three months.
I also knew that I owed him a lot, everything, perhaps. I picked up my pink crocheted purse and stuffed it in my breast pocket. I was apprehensive because I did not think that I could pull it off.
Staring at my wardrobe, I took it out and laid it on my bed.
I was nervous and excited at the same time. I was not sure if I was looking forward to it.
Feeling gutted, I stared at the dress and formed knots in my tummy. I breathed heavily then decided to just be confident and walk with it.
It was 9:00 pm. I put on the dress and left the house. I could feel people staring. I should have taken a coat with me. Confidence is key, I told myself, and I needed the money.
I finally reached the restaurant and stood outside with the wind slowly setting my hair.
Holding pamphlets in my hand, and making sure the hood does not blind me, I strutted around in my chicken onesie attracting a rather large crowd.
Exhausted, I glanced at the dreaded text again.
‘Yes, boss’, I replied.

Author: asubtlemisuse

Find a story that matches yours - maybe for all the wrong reasons!

One thought on “Pulling the Thread”

Leave a Reply

